Salt Lake City—Best Lawyers in Americaa foremost guide to legal excellence in the U.S. for more than 40 years, has recognized 63 Parsons Behle & Latimer (Parsons) attorneys as the “Best Lawyers” for 2024, including nine as “Lawyer of the Year” – a category that is presented to only one attorney in a given geographical region and practice area for each year’s edition – and 13 attorneys as “Ones to Watch” – new attorneys who are notably climbing the legal ranks. The 2024 Best Lawyers in America list includes attorneys in Parsons’ Boise and Idaho Falls, Idaho offices, Reno, Nevada office and Salt Lake City office.

According to Best Lawyers™, attorneys recognized in the 2024 issue were nominated by their peers for their professional excellence in 150 practice areas. The publication analyzed more than 13 million nominations of which 158,810 lawyers, (approximately 5% of attorneys in private practice in the United States) were chosen. “Lawyer of the Year” status was given to attorneys with extremely high overall feedback within specific practice areas and metropolitan regions. The “One to Watch” status was conferred on up-and-coming attorneys in their respective practice areas.

Parsons’ attorneys who achieved Best Lawyer ranking and “Lawyer of the Year” status are as follows:

“Lawyer of the Year” 

Salt Lake City office:

Vicki M. Baldwin, Energy Regulatory Law

Michael Patrick O’Brien, Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment

John A. Snow, Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants, Litigation – Real Estate

C. Kevin Speirs, Copyright Law

Charles H. Thronson, Medical Malpractice Law – Plaintiffs

Michael J. Tomko, Litigation – Environmental

Francis M. Wikstrom, Bet-the-Company Litigation

Boise office:

Robert B. Burns, Litigation – Real Estate 

Reno office:

Rew R. Goodenow, Bankruptcy & Creditor Debtor Rights, Insolvency & Reorganization Law

Parsons’ attorneys recognized as “Best Lawyers in America” include:

Salt Lake City office:

Richard J. Angell, Vicki M. Baldwin, Lawrence R. Barusch, J. Thomas Beckett, Thomas G. Berggren, Thomas T. Billings, David R. Bird, Julianne P. Blanch, Jonathan K. Butler, Lynn Cardey-Yates, Erik A. Christiansen, Gary E. Doctorman, Angus Edwards, Raymond J. Etcheverry, Shawn C. Ferrin, George M. Flint III, David R. Hall, Timothy C. Houpt, Stephen J. Hull, Christina M. Jepson, Bart Johnsen, Lisa A. Kirschner, Alex B. Leeman, Michael J. Malmquist, Geoffrey W. Mangum, Margaret Niver McGann, Michael Patrick O’Brien, Justin B. Palmer, Cory D. Sinclair, John A. Snow, C. Kevin Speirs, Craig B. Terry, Nathan D. Thomas, Charles H. Thronson, Michael J. Tomko, Paul D. Veasy, Katherine E. Venti, Juliette P. White, Francis M. Wikstrom, Michael Young, Michael A. Zody.

Boise office:

Robert B. Burns, Richard H. Greener, Dana M. Herberholz, J. Kevin West

Reno office:  

Jim B. Butler, Sarah Ferguson, Rew R. Goodenow, Michael R. Kealy

“One to Watch” attorneys include:

Boise office:

Andrew R. Alder, Jason R. Mau

Idaho Falls office:

Robert J. Couch, John E. Cutler, Kelsie A. Kirkham

Reno office:

Gregory Morrison, Ashley C. Nikkel

Salt Lake City office:

Liz Butler, Graham J. Gilbert, Gregory H. Gunn, Emily D. Holt, Paul R. Smith, Jason D. Steiert

Parsons congratulates these deserving attorneys. For more information about individual attorneys, visit