Idaho, like other western states, is laid out or surveyed in six-mile by six-mile squares or sections, called townships. Each township is separated into 36 square sections, numbered one through 36, with each section containing 640 acres. The starting point for this system of square townships is Idaho’s

Initial Point, which is the point from which all Idaho section lines have been surveyed.

That Initial Point was established by Peter W. Bell on April 19, 1867. It is located on the peak of a small volcanic butte that provides a height from which the surrounding area can be seen. The City of Meridian, directly north of the Initial Point, is located on the north-south line from that point. That line is called the Boise Meridian. Wherever property is located in Idaho, it is described in some way by its distance from this Initial Point

Contact Parsons Behle & Latimer’s Idaho Falls Real Estate department for your real estate needs. Parsons’s deep bench of real estate experts specialize in: 

  • Acquisition, Development & Leasing
  • Real Estate Financing
  • Condominium & Common Interest Communities
  • Real Estate Litigation
  • Construction & Design
  • Real Estate Taxation
  • Contaminated Properties
  • Resort, Hotel & Golf Course Development
  • Economic & Development Incentives
  • Water Quality
  • Foreclosures
  • Water Rights
  • Land Use & Entitlements
  • Workouts & Restructuring
  • Mortgage Servicing Law