Best Lawyers in America, a foremost guide to legal excellence in the U.S. for the past 40 years, has recognized 50 Parsons Behle & Latimer (Parsons) attorneys as the Best Lawyers in America, including nine as “Lawyer of the Year” – a category that is presented to only one attorney in a given geographical region and practice area for each year’s edition – and five attorneys as “Ones to Watch” – new attorneys who are notably climbing the legal ranks. The 2022 Best Lawyers in America list includes attorneys in Parsons’ Boise, Idaho Falls, Ida., Reno, Nev. and Salt Lake City offices. Parsons is also currently ranked as a top law firm in 59 practice areas in Idaho, Nevada and Utah collectively.

According to Best Lawyers™, attorneys recognized in the 2022 issue were nominated by their peers for their professional excellence in 146 practice areas. The publication analyzed 8.3 million nominations of which 62,000 lawyers, (approximately five percent of attorneys in private practice in the United States) were chosen. “Lawyer of the Year” status was conferred on attorneys with extremely high overall feedback within specific practice areas and metropolitan regions. The new “One to Watch” status was conferred on up-and-coming attorneys in their respective practice areas.

Parsons’ attorneys who achieved Best Lawyer ranking and “Lawyer of the Year” status are as follows:

“Lawyer of the Year” 

Salt Lake City office:

Richard J. Angell, Litigation – Environmental

Thomas T. Billings, Banking & Finance Law

Erik A. Christiansen, Litigation – Securities

C. Kevin Speirs, Patent Law

Paul D. Veasy, Litigation – Banking & Finance  

Boise office:

J. Kevin West, Insurance Law

Robert B. Burns, Litigation – Real Estate  

Reno office:

Michael R. Kealy, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants

Rew R. Goodenow, Litigation – Bankruptcy

Parsons’ attorneys recognized as “Best Lawyers in America” include:

Salt Lake City office:

Richard J. Angell, Vicki M. Baldwin, Lawrence R. Barusch, J. Thomas Beckett, Thomas T. Billings, David R. Bird, Julianne P. Blanch, Jonathan K. Butler, Lynn Cardey-Yates, Erik A. Christiansen, Gary E. Doctorman, Raymond J. Etcheverry, William J. Evans, Shawn C. Ferrin, David R. Hall, Stephen J. Hull, Christina M. Jepson, Lisa A. Kirschner, Michael L. Larsen, John R. Lund, Michael J. Malmquist, Geoffrey W. Mangum, Margaret Niver McGann, Hal J. Pos, John A. Snow, C. Kevin Speirs, Craig B. Terry, Charles H. Thronson, Michael J. Tomko, Paul D. Veasy, Katherine E. Venti, Juliette P. White, Francis M. Wikstrom, Michael A. Zody.

Boise office:

Robert B. Burns, Richard H. Greener, Dana M. Herberholz, J. Kevin West

Reno office:  

Jim B. Butler, Rew R. Goodenow, Michael R. Kealy

“One to Watch” attorneys include:

Idaho Falls office:

Robert J. Couch, Kelsie A. Kirkham

Reno office:

Gregory Morrison, Ashley C. Nikkel

Salt Lake City office:

Jason D. Steiert

Parsons congratulates these deserving attorneys. For more information about individual attorneys, visit